Skip to content ↓
Windlesham Village Infant School

Windlesham Village Infant School


In Reception, the children follow the Early Years Curriculum.  Learning and development covers the 7 key areas of learning within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which are: 

  • personal, social and emotional development. 

  • communication and language. 

  • physical development. 

  • literacy. 

  • mathematics. 

  • understanding the world. 

  • expressive arts and design. 

Every morning, following registration, a whole-class teaching session will introduce the pupils to a key learning concept which is to be a focus for the day. The class then divides into two groups; one group continues their learning in our outside area, with one adult, whilst the other group continues their learning inside.  Activities will include an adult-led focused task with direct teaching. Alongside, child-initiated activities run, often linked to the class topic theme.  The groups change locations later in the morning. As the children settle in the Autumn term, the children have a daily phonics and a daily number teaching session.